Main Menu

About Us

NUAHP National Body

Our Union, NUAHP, was first registered and approved as a trade Union by the federal government in 1978 via the popular Decree 22 of 1978. The original name was Nigerian Union of pharmacists, Medical Technologists, And Professions Allied to Medicine (NUPTPAM). Right from the origin, several groups within the Union became disenchanted with the name.

First, the pharmacist, wanted a separate Union and did not want to be associated with groups that were not degree holders as at that time except physiotherapists.

They also frowned at the phrase “Allied to Medicine” as well as “Medical Technologists”. So since then, their National leadership has never cooperated with the Union. In the case of physiotherapists, they disagreed with the mention of names of two professional groups – pharmacists and Medical Technologists and the fact that most of the Union members were non degree members. In later years, the medical laboratory Technologists changed their name to medical laboratory scientists and so they wanted the name of the Union changed to reflect this change.

These issues negatively affected the growth of the Union such that while other sister unions in the health sector were getting established and growing, ours was dwindling. The other unions are: MHWUN, SSAUTHRIAI, NANNM and NASU.

It was further observed that as a result of the crisis in the name of our Union, NUPMTPAM, other unions in the sector were benefitting from the membership of our Union. In other to arrest this trend, it became necessary to change the name of the Union and work hard to relaunch.

In 2007, the Union leadership decided to change the name from NUPMTPAM to Nigerian Union of medical and health professionals, NUMHP. One of the health sector unions raised objection to the name and so it was dropped. After our national delegates conference in May 2011, a new name – Nigerian Union of health professionals (NUHP) was adopted and forwarded to the Registrar of Trade unions in accordance with the law but this name was also rejected by the trade unions Registrar.

Eventually, the National Executive Council of the Union decided in February 2012 to present two other names namely; Allied health professionals Union of Nigeria (AHPUN) or Nigerian Union of Allied Health Professionals (NUAHP). The latter name was approved by the Trade unions Registrar and same was approved by the Honourable minister of labour and productivity after due processes have been fulfilled in 2013 and the new name was relaunched on Friday, 4th April, 2014 at Adeyemo Bero hall, State Secretariat, Ikeja, Lagos State.

NUPTPAM officer from inception:

1978 -1984 – *Mr. F. O. Adesina*

1984-1988 – *Mr. F. O Adesina*

1988-1994 – *Dr.F.O. Akinkuade*

1994-1998- Pa Olanisebe/Faniran

1998-2004- Val/Kamaze/Onigbinde and Lawal

2004-2007 – caretaker committee

2007-2011- Faniran/Adeyemi and Ogbonna

2011-2015- Faniran/Utenoh and Ogbonna.


NUAHP formerly known as (NUPMTPAM) was first established in FMC Keffi in the year 2011 with a seven man caretaker committee inaugurated by the then National President, F. O. Faniran on the 19th September, 2011 at the ANC Seminar room of FMC Keffi, Nasarawa State. The Acting Chairman was Mr. Ukuna Martins and the Secretary, Pharm. Ibrahim A. Kamal.

At the expiration of their tenure, the congress resolved that the caretaker Officers should be adopted as the 1st Executive Officers of the Union in FMC Keffi, to run a full tenure of 3 years.

On the 1st October, 2013, the then Chairman stepped aside for administrative reasons conflicting with his Union activities as a Head of Department and the vice, MLS Jegede Oyekunbi O. took over the mantle of leadership.

The election that brought in the present Officers was conducted on Thursday 25th June, 2015. And successful winners were inaugurated by National delegates on the 10th July 2015. Since then, God has been gracious to us.

Membership Strength

We have at present over 200 members that cut across 9 departments in the hospital.


Com. Ibrahim A Kamal Chairman

Com. Marcus Thomas Vice Chairman

Com. Aboh O. Victor Secretary

Com. Tyem Ganpon Assistant Secretary

Com. Chukwuemeka C. Onah PRO Com.

Salman Jamiu Treasurer

Com. Nkanu E. Ubi Financial Secretary

Com. Ramat Akpaki Auditor.